@sachac Is the way you’re recording your time too analytic-deductive?  A symptom of being reductive could be a requirement to code an activity to only one category.  Double-counting could be okay.

In business sense, there’s operating capital (i.e. everyday pocket change) and investment capital (i.e. something that takes a longer time to develop and show a benefits).  Some of the thinking about sustainability in the longer term could be related to regenerative design (in the way John Lyle thought about it).

I found myself slipping from the feeling of an abundance of time to the feeling of a scarcity of it, to be carefully portioned out among too many demands.  [....]

So now I’ve got a couple of ways to rethink how this fits into my life.

I can promote these extracurriculars from the category “Work – Other” to “Discretionary – Other” or something similar, and budget myself four or five hours a week. It’s not work, it’s learning.

Alternatively, I can keep it under “Work – Other” and add an effective 10% overhead to my billable work. Many people have told me that I’m a fast developer, anyway, so scaling my output down to that of a somewhat above average developer will still mean that we do good stuff. The cognitive surplus goes into process improvement, self-development, and happiness, which is definitely worthwhile. I get stressed when I feel like I’m letting my other priorities slip, so spending time on them is important too.

These extracurricular interests can create a lot of value. I should adjust my measurements accordingly so that my measurements don’t lead to conflicting feelings.

Comment on Work, extracurriculars, and measuring time: an epiphany | sacha chua :: living an awesome life.

