@sachac As an alternative to being frustrated about situational absentmindedness, I take my lapses as signals that I’m tired or exhausted. We’re biological beings, so we get overloaded.  I then (i) apologize to my spouse in advance that my behaviour may not be as normal, (ii) slow down on tasks and reduce multitasking, and (iii) get out on my bicycle for exercise and/or schedule an appointment with my acupuncturist (recognizing the symptom of slowed pulse).  There’s always tomorrow.

Comment on  It turns out that “I suck” moments are more negotiable than I thought | sacha chua :: living an awesome life.

Years ago, I might have let that “I suck” moment throw me off my balance. I still occasionally run into this situation at work. Even after a positive resolution, I might still have begrudged my absentmindedness the effect on my schedule, berating myself for inattention. I tested it mentally by considering this: what if I’d ended up losing the cash for good? It would be inconvenient, but I don’t think I would have let it spoil my day.

Keeping a tranquil mind was much easier when I didn’t give in to the temptation to mentally berate myself. It turns out that “I suck” moments can be dealt with. Reflection helped me grasp a situation and know that I can wring an idea or a story or an aha! out of it, which means there are never really any total losses. That comforting thought minimized the initial stress, and then I had enough mental space to focus on what I can do next, what’s going well, and what can be improved.